Home / Sports / Coach Gets Tech for Call He Was Right About
Coach Gets Tech for Call He Was Right About
17 Dec
Summary
- Coach received a technical foul for arguing a play.
- The coach was later proven correct about the disputed call.
- Commentators suggested the technical foul should be rescinded.

San Antonio Spurs head coach Mitch Johnson recently faced an unusual scenario when he received a technical foul. Johnson was penalized for arguing a charging call made against player Luke Kornet. The coach's frustration stemmed from his belief that the referees had made an incorrect judgment on the play.
Ironically, Johnson called a timeout specifically to challenge the very call he was arguing about, and his dispute continued. The subsequent challenge ultimately vindicated Johnson's initial assessment, proving the referees' call to be wrong. While the opposing team missed the ensuing technical free throw, the incident sparked discussion about the fairness of penalizing a coach for a correct assertion.
This peculiar situation has raised questions about NBA officiating and replay rules. Observers, including former NBA coach Stan Van Gundy, have suggested that technical fouls issued for calls later overturned by a challenge should be rescinded. This sentiment reflects a broader feeling that coaches should have some leniency when replay confirms their initial disagreement with a referee's decision.




