Home / Sports / Antony Escapes Red Card Again After Headbutt Incident
Antony Escapes Red Card Again After Headbutt Incident
28 Nov
Summary
- Antony appeared to headbutt an opponent in the Europa League match.
- VAR reviewed the incident but decided against a sanction.
- He was still suspended for a previous red card offense.

Antony, formerly of Manchester United, avoided a second consecutive red card after an apparent headbutt in Real Betis' Europa League fixture against Utrecht. The incident, which occurred in the 21st minute, saw Antony engage with Utrecht's Souffian El Karouani, with the Brazilian appearing to aim a headbutt.
Despite the clash and El Karouani falling to the ground, the referee issued no card. VAR reviewed the play but ultimately cleared Antony. This controversy followed closely behind his dismissal in a previous match for kicking an opponent, a decision he is appealing.
Real Betis went on to win the match 2-1. However, Antony will miss the crucial derby against Sevilla due to his prior suspension, a situation he expressed deep sadness and anger over.




